Dallas Mavericks forward Dirk Nowitzki became the sixth member of the NBA's 30,000-point club March 7 when he hit a fadeaway jumper in the second quarter against the Los Angeles Lakers. He joins Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (38,387 points), Karl Malone (36,928), K Mark Hoffer
Dallas Mavericks forward Dirk Nowitzki became the sixth member of the NBA's 30,000-point club March 7 when he hit a fadeaway jumper in the second quarter against the Los Angeles Lakers. He joins Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (38,387 points), Karl Malone (36,928), K Mark Hoffer

Dallas Mavericks

Dirk Nowitzki, Mavericks set to test rugged schedule

By David Humphrey

dchumphrey@star-telegram.com

August 14, 2017 05:53 PM

UPDATED August 14, 2017 06:32 PM

If the Dallas Mavericks are going to return to the playoffs, they now know what the road will look like.

The NBA released its regular-season schedule Monday.

The Mavericks, led by superstar Dirk Nowitzki and exciting rookie Dennis Smith Jr., will appear on national television 11 times, including five games on ESPN, five on NBA TV and once on TNT.

Nowitzki, who turned 39 on June 19, is set to go into his 20th season with the Mavericks.

Never miss a local story.

Sign up today for a free 30 day free trial of unlimited digital access.

The Mavericks will open at home against the Atlanta Hawks on Oct. 18, followed by the Sacramento Kings on at American Airlines Center on Oct. 20.

It will be the Mavericks’ first home opener since 2013, when Dallas defeated the Hawks 118-109.

Johnathan Motley: the Mavericks' next undrafted rookie steal?

Fresh off his game-winner in the Orlando Summer League, the former Baylor standout is making a name for himself in the Mavs' organization. Video by Matthew Martinez.

Matthew Martinez mmartinez@star-telegram.com

In an effort to cut down on the number of back-to-back games and completely eliminate four-game, five-night stretches for all teams, the NBA has stretched the regular season by starting in mid-October.

This is the earliest season opener for the Mavericks since the club’s inaugural season in 1980, when they kicked things off against the San Antonio Spurs on Oct. 11.

The reigning world champion Golden State Warriors will make two stops at American Airlines Center. The first trip being just the third home contest of the season (Oct. 23) and the final being the Mavericks first game of the New Year (Jan. 3).

The Eastern Conference champion Cleveland Cavaliers will make their only trip to Dallas on Nov. 11.

Rookie Dennis Smith Jr. is signed and sealed for Mavericks

The Mavericks signed their top draft pick Dennis Smith Jr. to a 4-year rookie contract Wednesday which would pay the standout point guard around $2.7 Million per season in the first two years. Dallas holds team options on the 3rd and 4th years.

Kevin Casas kcasas@star-telegram.com

Dallas Mavericks 2017-18 schedule

October

Wed. Oct. 18 Atlanta 7:30 p.m.

Fri. Oct. 20 Sacramento 7:30 p.m.

Sat. Oct. 21 @ Houston 7 p.m.

Mon. Oct. 23 Golden State 7:30 p.m.

Wed. Oct. 25 Memphis 7:30 p.m.

Thurs. Oct. 26 @ Memphis 7 p.m.

Sat. Oct. 28 Philadelphia 7:30 p.m.

Mon. Oct. 30 @ Utah 8 p.m.

November

Wed. Nov. 1 @ L.A. Clippers 9:30 p.m. ESPN

Fri. Nov. 3 New Orleans 7:30 p.m.

Sat. Nov. 4 @ Minnesota 7 p.m.

Tues. Nov. 7 @ Washington 6 p.m.

Sat. Nov. 11 Cleveland 7:30 p.m.

Sun. Nov. 12 @ Oklahoma City 6 p.m.

Tues. Nov. 14 San Antonio 7:30 p.m.

Fri. Nov. 17 Minnesota 7:30 p.m.

Sat. Nov. 18 Milwaukee 8 p.m.

Mon. Nov. 20 Boston 7:30 p.m.

Wed. Nov. 22 @ Memphis 7 p.m.

Sat. Nov. 25 Oklahoma City 7:30 p.m.

Mon. Nov. 27 @ San Antonio 7:30 p.m.NBATV

Wed. Nov. 29 Brooklyn 7:30 p.m.

December

Sat. Dec. 2 L.A. Clippers 1 p.m.

Mon. Dec. 4 Denver 7:30 p.m.

Wed. Dec. 6 @ Boston 6:30 p.m.

Fri. Dec. 8 @ Milwaukee 7 p.m.

Sun. Dec. 10 @ Minnesota 6 p.m.

Tues. Dec. 12 San Antonio 8:30 p.m. ESPN

Thurs. Dec. 14 @ Golden State 9:30 p.m. TNT

Sat. Dec. 16 @ San Antonio 7:30 p.m.

Mon. Dec. 18 Phoenix 7:30 p.m.

Wed. Dec. 20 Detroit 7:30 p.m.

Fri. Dec. 22 @ Miami 7 p.m.

Sat. Dec. 23 @ Atlanta 6:30 p.m.

Tues. Dec. 26 Toronto 6 p.m.

Wed. Dec. 27 @ Indiana 6 p.m.

Fri. Dec. 29 @ New Orleans 7 p.m.

Sun. Dec. 31 @ Oklahoma City 6 p.m.

January

Wed. Jan. 3 Golden State 7:30 p.m.

Fri. Jan. 5 Chicago 7:30 p.m.

Sun. Jan. 7 New York 6 p.m.

Tues. Jan.9 Orlando 7:30 p.m.

Wed. Jan. 10 @ Charlotte 6 p.m.

Sat. Jan. 13 L.A. Lakers 1 p.m.

Tues. Jan. 16 @ Denver 8 p.m.

Sat. Jan. 20 @ Portland 9 p.m.

Mon. Jan. 22 Washington 7:30 p.m.

Wed. Jan. 24 Houston 7 p.m. ESPN

Fri. Jan. 26 Portland 7:30 p.m.

Sat. Jan 27 @ Denver 8 p.m.

Mon. Jan. 29 Miami 7:30 p.m.

Wed. Jan. 31 @ Phoenix 9:30 p.m. ESPN

February

Sat. Feb. 3 @ Sacramento 9 p.m.

Mon. Feb. 5 @ L.A. Clippers 9:30 p.m. NBATV

Thurs. Feb 8 @ Golden State 9:30 p.m.

Sat. Feb. 10 L.A. Lakers 7:30 p.m.

Sun. Feb. 11 @ Houston 6 p.m. NBATV

Tues. Feb. 13 Sacramento 7:30 p.m.

All Star Weekend Los Angeles, Calif. Feb. 16-18

Fri. Feb. 23 @ L.A. Lakers 9:30 p.m. ESPN

Sat. Feb. 24 @ Utah 8 p.m.

Mon. Feb. 26 Indiana 7:30 p.m.

Wed. Feb. 28 Oklahoma City 7:30 p.m.

March

Fri. March 2 @ Chicago 7 p.m.

Sun. March 4 New Orleans 6 p.m.

Tues. March 6 Denver 7:30 p.m.

Sat. March 10 Memphis 7:30 p.m.

Sun. March 11 Houston 6 p.m.

Tues. March 13 @ New York 6:30 p.m.

Fri. March 16 @ Toronto 6:30 p.m.

Sat. March 17 @ Brooklyn 6:30 p.m.

Tues. March 20 @ New Orleans 7 p.m.

Thurs. Marcu 22 Utah 7:30 p.m.

Sat. March 24 Charlotte 7:30 p.m.

Tues. March 27 @ Sacramento 9 p.m.

Wed. March 28 @ L.A. Lakers 9:30 p.m.

Fri. March 30 Minnesota 7:30 p.m.

April

Sun. April 1 @ Cleveland 5 p.m. NBATV

Tues. April 3 Portland 7:30 p.m.

Wed. April 4 @ Orlando 6 p.m.

Fri. April 6 @ Detroit 6 p.m.

Sun. April 8 @ Philadelphia Noon NBATV

Tues. April 10 Phoenix 7:30 p.m.

All Times Dallas Time (CT)