Jerry Jones' Hall of Fame journey

Jerry Jones was voted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2017 as a contributor, check out his accomplishments owning the Dallas Cowboys.
Up Next
Jerry Jones was voted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2017 as a contributor, check out his accomplishments owning the Dallas Cowboys.

Dallas Cowboys

Jones, Tomlinson highlight Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2017

By David Humphrey

July 29, 2017 05:14 PM

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2017 will be enshrined Saturday, Aug. 5, in Canton, Ohio.

Seven new members, led by Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones and former TCU and San Diego Chargers great LaDainian Tomlinson, will be inducted. Others going into the Hall are Morten Andersen, Terrell Davis, Kenny Easley, Jason Taylor and Kurt Warner.

Jones will go into the Hall of Fame as a contributor.

“Jerry Jones is a visionary. He has changed the way people have absorbed the game,” said Brad Sham, longtime radio voice of the Dallas Cowboys.

Gene Jones, Jerry Jones’ wife, will be his presenter.

Lorenzo Neal, Tomlinson’s fullback with the Chargers, will be his presenter.

Tomlinson, a first-ballot selection, played nine seasons with the Chargers and two with the New York Jets. After 54 years in San Diego, the Chargers moved to Los Angeles this year. But for Tomlinson, the Chargers are the Chargers.

“There is no conflict there. In my mind, they’re the Chargers. To me, it’s always been about the lightning bolt,” said Tomlinson, who works for NFL Network and was recently hired as a special assistant to Dean Spanos and the Los Angeles Chargers.

The ceremony will be broadcast live at 6 p.m. on the NFL Network and ESPN.

LaDainian Tomlinson was named to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday. The seven-man class includes Jerry Jones.


Here’s a capsule preview of the Class of 2017:

Morten Andersen

Position: Kicker

College: Michigan State

NFL: 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints; 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons; 2001 New York Giants; 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs; 2004 Minnesota Vikings

How acquired: Selected by Saints in fourth round (86th overall) of 1982 draft.

Presenter: His son, Sebastian Andersen

Notable: Scored at least 90 points in 22 seasons … Topped 100 points in a season 14 times in career … Seven-time Pro Bowler ... Five-time All-Pro ... Set NFL records for career points (2,544), field goals (565), games played (382) … Named to two NFL All-Decade teams (1980s and 1990s).

Terrell Davis

Position: Running back

Colleges: Long Beach State, Georgia

NFL: 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

How acquired: Drafted in the sixth round (196th overall) in 1995

Presenter: His agent and friend, Neil Schwartz

Notable: In 1998 became fourth runner in NFL history to rush for 2,000 yards in season (2,008) and led NFL with 21 rushing touchdowns en route to Denver’s second straight Super Bowl title ... Earned MVP honors in Super Bowl XXXII ... Three-time All-Pro selection … Three-time Pro Bowler ... Named to the NFL’s All-Decade team of the 1990s.

Kenny Easley

Position: Safety

College: UCLA

NFL: 1981-87 Seattle Seahawks

How acquired: Drafted by Seahawks in first round (fourth overall) in 1981

Presenter: His high school coach, Tommy Rhodes

Notable: Developed reputation as punishing tackler … Defensive Rookie of the Year ... AFC Defensive Player of the Year honors in 1983 … Named Defensive Player of the Year in 1984 ... Four-time All-Pro ... Five-time Pro Bowler ... Member of NFL’s All-Decade team of 1980s … 32 career interceptions.

Jerry Jones

Position: Owner, president and general manager

College: Arkansas

NFL: Owner of Dallas Cowboys from 1989-present

Presenter: His wife, Gene Jones

Notable: Leadership in sports marketing and promotion has influenced landscape of NFL and America’s sports culture … Became first owner in league history to win three Super Bowls in first seven years of ownership … Vision was driving influence in the creation and development of AT&T Stadium, “crown jewel” of all sports venues, and The Star in Frisco.

Jason Taylor

Position: Defensive end

College: Akron

NFL: 1997-2007, 2009, 2011 Miami Dolphins; 2008 Washington Redskins; 2010 New York Jets

How acquired: Drafted by Dolphins in third round (73rd overall) in 1997

Presenter: His coach in Miami, Jimmy Johnson

Notable: Registered double-digit sack totals six times over an eight-year span (2000-07) … Earned NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 2006 ... Led NFL with career-high 18.5 sacks in 2002 … 139.5 career sacks ... Six-time Pro Bowler ... Three-time first-team All-Pro ... Named to NFL’s All-Decade team of the 2000s.

LaDainian Tomlinson

Position: Running back

College: TCU

NFL: 2001-09 San Diego Chargers; 2010-11 New York Jets

How acquired: Drafted by Chargers in first round (fifth overall) in 2001

Presenter: His fullback in San Diego, Lorenzo Neal

Notable: Captured back-to-back rushing titles, 2006-07 … NFL Most Valuable Player in 2006 ... Set NFL record with rushing touchdown in 18 consecutive games (2004-05) … Four-time All-Pro ... Five-time Pro Bowler ... Rushed for 13,684 career yards on 3,174 carries and scored 145 rushing touchdowns … Named to NFL’s All-Decade team of 2000s.

Kurt Warner

Position: Quarterback

College: Northern Iowa

NFL: 1998-2003 St. Louis Rams; 2004 New York Giants; 2005-09 Arizona Cardinals

How acquired: Undrafted

Presenter: His wife, Brenda

Notable: Originally signed by and then released by Green Bay in 1994 … Played in Arena Football League with Iowa Barnstormers (1995-97) … Returned to NFL with Rams as free agent and allocated to NFL Europe’s Amsterdam Admirals … Returned to Rams in 1998 … Two-time NFL MVP (1999 and 2001) and MVP of Super Bowl XXXIV ... Four-time Pro Bowler.

Source: Pro Football Hall of Fame